Difference between revisions of "Pegboy"

From ChicagoPunk
Jump to: navigation, search
(+ URLs)
m (External Links)
Line 90: Line 90:
[[Category:Recent Bands With Old Scene Members]]
[[Category:Recent Bands With Old Scene Members]]

Revision as of 12:04, 10 August 2016

Group shot of Pegboy

Pegboy was a punk/postpunk supergroup that started in 1990 and are largely attributed to carrying Chicago's post hardcore with melodic overtones into the 1990s, and continues on to this day. Their members were at some point in Naked Raygun, Strike Under, The Effigies, Big Black, Bhopal Stiffs, Bloodsport, Trial by Fire and likely many more. In fact, when Steve Saylors left the band in 1993 Chicago legend, legendary nationwide underground and mainstream producer and creator of Rapeman and Big Black Steve Albini filled in for him.

On September 9th, 2006 - Pegboy played at the Touch and Go Records 25th Anniversary.



In 1989, John Haggerty had left Naked Raygun. Haggerty came down to a couple Bhopal Stiffs practice sessions to jam, not wanting to join the band. At that time however, the Stiffs were starting to fizzle themselves. Larry Damore, Steve Saylors and Dave Schleitwiler did jam with Haggerty on a proto-Pegboy but John wanted to bring in his brother Joe so Schleitwiler left at a very early time and ended up in Buzzmuscle. Two songs written by the Stiffs, including My Youth, turned into Pegboy tracks.

Current Members

Former Members


  • Recorded 6/1990 at Bombadier Beetle Studios
  • Staylors on bass
  • Produced and Engineered by Iain Burgess
  1. Through My Fingers
  2. My Youth
  3. Fade Away
  4. Method
  • Strong Reaction (Quarterstick, 1991)
  • Recorded 6/1991 at Chicago Recording Company
  • Staylors on Bass
  • 1st Engineer Iain Burgess, 2nd Chuck Uchida
  1. Strong Reaction
  2. Still Uneasy
  3. Not What I Want
  4. What To Do
  5. Locomotivelung
  6. Superstar
  7. Field of Darkness
  8. Time Again
  9. Believe
  10. Hardlight
  • Fore EP (Quarterstick, 1993)
  • Albini on Bass
  1. Never A Question
  2. Witnessed
  3. Minutes to Hours
  4. Jesus Christ
  • Earwig (Quarterstick, 1994)
  • Kezdy on Bass
  1. Line Up
  2. Sinner Inside
  3. Gordo
  4. Sideshow
  5. Spaghetti Western
  6. Revolver
  7. You
  8. Blister
  9. Wages of Sin
  10. Mr. Pink
  11. Over the Hills
  12. Louisiana
  • Fields of Darkness & Walk on By Single/EP (Quarterstick, 1994)
  • Dangermare Single/EP (Quarterstick, 1995)
  • Cha Cha Damore (Quarterstick, 1997)

External Links