From ChicagoPunk
Revision as of 18:52, 22 July 2015 by Gantry (talk | contribs) (Changed start year)
Jump to: navigation, search

Ministry is the internationally known dance/industrial band fronted by longtime Chicago music veteran Al Jourgensen. Ministry started in Chicago in 1981 and was a critical band in the dawning of industrial rock. Their sound fit in with the unique Chicago punk sound in the 80s with bands like Big Black, The Effigies and Naked Raygun which essentially aided in the creation of a brand new genre (Industrial, Industrial Punk, etc.), long before the likes of copycat producers like Trent Reznor, Peter Steele and even Rob Zombie, but around the same time that Industrial and dance music was seething out of Detroit.


Ministry Current Members

Al Jourgensen

John Bechdel

Sin Quirin

Aaron Rossi

Casey Orr

Ministry Prior Members

John Davis

Stephen George

Robert Roberts

Marty Sorenson

Shay Jones

Brad Hallen

Paul Barker

Bill Rieflin

Chris Connelly

Nivek Ogre

Mike Scaccia

Howie Beno

Michael Balch

Louis Svitek

Duane Buford

Zlatko Hukic

Rey Washam

Max Brody

Mark Baker

John Monte

Paul Raven

Tommy Victor

Tony Campos

Jello Biafra

Breakup and reunion

Not long after Paul Raven's death on October 20, 2007 (He suffered an apparent heart attack shortly after arriving in Europe to commence recording for the French industrial band Treponem Pal near the Swiss border), Ministry disbanded; more like took a hiatus, until 2011 when they reunited.

Al Jourgensen stayed busy and remixed and co-produced Spyder Baby's "Bitter", which was released by Blind Prophecy Records in early 2008. They now tour on a international level again.

External Links