From ChicagoPunk
Revision as of 04:59, 30 May 2006 by Galanter (talk | contribs) (External Links: jacket image)
Jump to: navigation, search

Da was an early Chicago punk band tinted with a dash of goth and a pinch of Velvet Underground. In addition, the gender balance was initially 3 women and 1 man, and then later 2 and 2. That alone was (and remains) unusual.

Singer/bassplayer Lorna Donley wrote most (all?) of the lyrics, and sang them with an effective, aggresive, dark tone. Her melodic bass parts were generally alert and clever. Guitar players Gaylene Goudreau and David Thomas not only played with great complementarity, they were also actually interesting to watch in live performance. Dawn Fisher completed the distaff majority contributing a basic but relentless drum section. Bob Furem replaced Fisher and most at the time agreed he added a much needed shot of Buzzcocks-like energy.

Current Lineup


  • Dark Rooms 7" 45 (Autumn, 1981)
    • A. Dark Rooms
    • B. White Castles
  • Time Will Be Kind 12" EP (Autumn Records, 1982)
    • 1. Next to Nothing
    • 2. Strangers
    • 3. Silent Snow
    • 4. Three Shadows
    • 5. This Doubt


  • Busted at Oz (Autumn Records, 1981) - Live versions of "The Killer" and "Fish Shit".



External Links